Cherry Drop Cake

Standard

One of my favorite dessert ingredients is cherries with my favorite ingredient being chocolate.  Today I will share my recipe for Cherry Drop Cake.  The cherry combined with almond extract makes a great tasting dessert.

CHERRY DROP CAKE
You will need:
1 cup butter, softened
1 ½ cup granulated sugar
4 eggs
1 tsp. almond extract
2 cups flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 can cherry pie filling

Directions:
Pre-heat oven 350 degrees
Cream, softened butter, sugar and eggs
Add extract, flour and baking powder, mix until smooth, batter will be thick
Turn batter out into a 9X13 greased pan, smooth out into pan
Spoon filling by dropping onto batter, DO NOT DUMP CHERRIES, your cake will not turn out right.
Bake for 40-45 minutes
Filling will sink during baking.
Let cool.
For decoration you can sift confectioner sugar on top of cake, slice and serve.
Tips: you can try other fillings like apple, but substitute vanilla extract for the almond
Enjoy!!!
Rae

15 responses »

  1. I love any dessert with cherry pie filling. I wish I had some
    Now. Thanks for sharing at Merry Monday. Hope to see you at the party next week

  2. This cake looks so yummy! I love that it has cherry pie filling. That makes it so easy. 😀 Can’t wait to try it. Pinning!

  3. What a fun idea. I love the cherry pie filling in it and I can definitely see that you would not just want to dump the pie filling in instead of spooning it in. Thank you for sharing at Sugar and Spice Link Party.

  4. Pingback: What'd You Do This Weekend? #277 | Recipes and Ramblings with the Tumbleweed Contessa

  5. Congratulations!
    Your post is featured on Full Plate Thursday this week, and thanks so much for sharing it with us. We are pinning it to our Features Board and hope you enjoy your new Red Plate!
    Miz Helen

  6. I’ve made this recipe and similar ones before, but lately I’m having trouble. The top and edges form a crunchy crust-like texture, and the cherries sink to the bottom and can’t be seen until it’s cut. Same ingredients, same oven, same temp, and same pan. Up until about 18 months ago all was normal with it. Only difference I can think of is generic butter sticks. Would that make a difference? Hopefully someone has an idea, because our family loves this cake when it turns out like it should.

    • I’ve never had trouble with this recipe and I use Aldi brand butter. If you had luck before with premium butter I would try that again to see if it works. Also I have an old oven and it heats up higher than the temp I set it at. Maybe get a thermometer to check the internal temp of your oven. That could throw a recipe off. Good luck.

      • Thanks! I shop at Aldi too but haven’t tried baking with their butter. I’ll give that a shot and also check the temp.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.