Recipe: Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Standard

It’s officially spring now and if your like me you started your Spring cleaning.  I like to start from the top down & finish with the basement.  I notice a lot of things get thrown down in the basement while cleaning so this makes the most sense to end there.  If we feel it no longer serves a need in our home the basement items are put in the trunk and driven right to the thrift store that same day.  All this cleaning leaves little room for other things like cooking.  When I clean I like to make crock pot meals.  A family favorite is PULLED PORK SANDWICHES.  These are started the night before and ready at lunch time and definitely for a nice dinner.  Happy Cleaning!!

PULLED PORK SANDWICHES

 

You need pork shoulder roast, I buy a 6 pound roast

 

1 can Dr. Pepper, (OR IF YOU HAVE A 2 LITER BOTTLE A CUP WILL DO.)

 

1 onion sliced

 

1 bottle of your favorite BBQ sauce

 

Rolls, for serving

 

Directions:

In a crock pot, I first add a crock pot bag, you can skip this if you like, but it makes for an easy clean up.

 

Add sliced onions to bottom, put your roast on top of the onion slices.  Now on top of the roast add 1 can of Dr. Pepper.

 

Cook on low for about 12 hours.  When roast is done, take out of crock pot, I usually dump the juice out at this point.

 

Remove any fat from the roast, discard.  Now with 2 forks, pull the pork apart until it is all pulled.

 

Add back into the pot, now add a bottle of BBQ sauce and cook at least another hour.

 

Serve on a roll.

 

Tip, I usually start my roast at 11pm.  Then you have the roast ready for lunch.  I then leave it on heat setting to serve for dinner.

 

Tip, I have also substituted 7-up or cola for the Dr. Pepper. All 3 flavors have a great taste. Any one will do.

 

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Meal Plan Monday -- Greek Kabobs and Mexican Lasagna

  2. We love Pulled Pork and your recipe looks delicious! Hope you are having a great day and thanks so much for sharing your post with us at Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.