Review: On the Rocks: A Dana Cohen Mystey (Dana Cohen Mysteries Book 1)

image

TItle: On the Rocks: A Dana Cohen Mystey (Dana Cohen Mysteries Book 1)

Author: Rebecca Marks

Authoe a Website: http://www.rebeccamarksauthor.com/

Print Length: 266 pages
Publisher: Black Opal Books
Publication Date: November 21, 2015
ASIN: B017R7EUAE

Genre: Mystery and Thriller Women’s Fiction

Source: Review copy provided via Reading Alley in exchange for an honest review.

Book Description, From Amazon

Dana Cohen, a 40-something, retired NYPD detective, leaves the city and returns to her home on the North Fork of Long Island to sort out her failing marriage, her father’s decline from Alzheimer’s Disease, and what to do with the family’s prosperous, small winery. A couple of grisly murders entice her back into the detective business, and she learns that things are not always what they seem. ON THE ROCKS is available at http://www.amazon.com, from the publisher Black Opal Books at http://www.blackopalbooks.com, and at the Book Review bookstore in Huntington, L.I.

My Thoughts

Dana was trying to sort out her affairs after leaving the police force and hoping to work at her fathers winery since he went into a home.  Dana’s cheating husband was trying to weasel his way back into her life and bed, but Dana was tired of him breaking her heart over and over.  Dana would soon find out his cheating was the least of her worries with her husband Pete.  When a dead body shows up Dana must try to help solve the murder, but can she stay sober enough to find the answers?

I enjoyed reading this mystery, just when I thought I knew the answers a twist would show up and have me wanting to fly through the pages to get to the truth.  It was a fast read because of how I was truly enjoying the suspense.  There are characters you love and characters you love to hate.  I have to say the dog in this story is one of my favorite characters.  This to me is similar to a cozy, but with more edge.  If you are a fan of cozy I think this genre is worth a try, but fans of mystery are sure to enjoy this read.  I would recommend you read this book.

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Review: On the Rocks: A Dana Cohen Mystey (Dana Cohen Mysteries Book 1)

  1. Thank you so much Rae for reviewing my book. I truly appreciate it. And thank you for introducing me to your wonderful blog. I love reading about the books and trying the recipes! I will be a faithful follower from now on.

Leave a Reply

